InfoServe Media - Web Development Services Contact InformationPurchase Domain Names
  
Control Panel

knowledge base

   
Knowledge Base:  Design - Site Editor:  Manage Groups

Details:
In this sub-section of Access you can create and delete groups, as well as specify 
and modify the access permissions of a group.

Modify / Delete Group 
Group Drop-Down Menu
Use this menu to select an existing group which you want to delete or modify. 

Modify Button
Once you've selected an existing group from the drop-down menu, click 
the “Modify” button, to change the settings and permissions for the group. The 
options here are exactly the same as those described under “Add Group” below.

Delete Button
Once you've selected an existing group from the drop-down menu, click 
the “Delete” button to delete the group from the database. Before the group is 
deleted, you receive a confirmation warning. 

Note:
Once you click “OK” in the confirmation dialogue, the group, as well as all users 
that belong to it, will be permanently deleted. This cannot be undone! 
Add Group
Name
Enter the name of the group that will be created. 

System Permissions
Select the sections of the Admin which members of this group will be able to 
access. If you leave “Pages” unticked, for instance, members of this group will not 
be able to access the Pages section of the Admin, and the “Pages” item will 
disapper from the Admin Menu when a member of this group is logged in.

“Modules”, “Templates” and “Languages” are sub-sections of the Add-Ons 
section. “Users” and “Groups” are sub-sections of the Access section.

Show Advanced Options
Normally, System Permissions only allow you to either block a group from 
accessing a section, or to enable full access to it. However, if you click the “Show 
Advanced Options” button, System Permissions will expand, and you will be able 
to control specific permissions for the various sections of the site Admin.

For instance, instead of stopping a group from using the Media section altogether, 
you may wish to give the group permission to view and upload items, but stop 
them from deleting, renaming or making any other changes to it.

Module Permissions
If a group has permission to create new pages, here you can specify what types of 
pages the group is allowed to create. This does not affect the group's ability to 
view or access these types of pages.

Template Permissions
If a group has permission to modify settings of pages, you can then specify here 
what templates the group is allowed to assign to pages. This does not affect the 
group's ability to view or access pages that use other templates.


Reset Button
To clear all the information you entered, and start again from scratch, click here.

Add Button
Once you've specified all the group's settings as you wish, click this button to 
create the new group.
Technology Providers

Home  |  Design  |  Hosting  |  Domains  |  Promotion  |  Support  |  Site Map

Call Us Toll-Free 1.800.838.2203